Merritt Centennials
Q101 is the Home of the Cents!


The buzzer sounded at the SOEC in Penticton last night, and for the first time in 14 years neither the Vernon Vipers or Penticton Vees will be represented in the Interior Division Final. 

The Trail Smoke Eaters topped the Vees in Game 7 on the road 4-2 to clinch their first trip to the third round in franchise history, and they will meet the newly moved Wenatchee Wild for the Interior Division Championship and a berth in the BCHL finals. Wenatchee topped the Vernon Vipers 4-2 in the series after coming back from an 0-2 deficit. This will also mean a fourth team (other than the Vees, Vipers, or Warriors) will win the Interior Division title in that 14 year time frame. 

The Mainland Division Championship went to seven games as the Spruce Kings dispatched the Surrey Eagles at home in Prince George and it sets up a collision course with Island Division Champions, the Powell River Kings, who won in 5 games over the Victoria Grizzlies. This matchup represents what is the 3rd longest possible series in the BCHL with 890 kilometres between the two rinks (and two ferries!)

The clash of Kings begins on Friday, while the Smoke Eaters and Wild series schedule has not yet been announced. 

Pin It

frozen four.jpg

In basketball it's all about March Madness, but in college hockey the quest for the Frozen Four begins on Friday. 

In all, the Merritt Centennials will have 5 alumnus participating in the tournament on 3 different teams. The Michigan Tech Huskies will be taking on the No. 1 seeded Notre Dame Fighting Irish, and the Huskies will have 3 former Cents competing: Devin Kero (G-2013-14), Gavin Gould (F-2013-16) , and Dane Birks (D-2012-2014) (who is a draft pick of the Pittsburgh Penguins).

In another matchup, the Providence Friars are taking on the Clarkson Golden Knights, and Brandon Duhaime (F-2014-15), drafted by Minnesota in 2016, will be adding his talents to the Friars side.

Finally, Josh Teves (D-2014-15) will be looking to help the Princeton Tigers upset the No. 1 Ohio State Buckeyes.

The round of 16 begins this Friday with the Frozen Four going from April 5-7th in St. Paul Minnesota. 


Pin It

45 anni.jpg

A flurry of activity before the closing time of 9pm on Friday night brought the bid totals up. 

In all $6105 was raised, and Game Day Coordinator Teresa Sybrandy says it will go to a very worthy cause. 

"The money will be split between the Canadian Mental Health Association and the Ty Pozzobon Foundation, so two causes that are very near and dear to Merrittonians."

The players who proved the most popular were Zach Risteau and Matt Kopperud whose jersey's both raised $300 towards the cause.  

Pin It


The Merritt Centennials season may have finished with a sweep, but the offseason begins with a bang. 

Early Bird Season Tickets are now on sale to the public with special pricing on a number of options: Adult, Senior, Children, and Student Season Passes, as well as 10 and 5 game flex packs. 

Adult Season Tickets start at $199 for the year or less than $7.10 a game!

Available until April 30th, Regular pricing in effect May 1st. 

Visit the Centennials Marketing Office on Voght Street across from the Post Office to grab yours. 

Pin It


The BCHL released it's list of All-Stars for the 2017-18 season, and the Merritt Centennials are left without a representative on the First or Second Team All-Stars as well as the All-Rookie Team. 

Voted on by play-by-play broadcasters throughout the league, the Interior Division has 13 of 18 possible spots. The Victoria Grizzlies' Alex Newhook is the only player to be featured on both the All-Rookie Team and First Team All-Stars. 

The top scorer this season on the Cents was graduating player Henry Cleghorn with 48 points, while Nick Wicks was the only player who was nominated for a year-end award from the BCHL in the Most Sportsmanlike category. 

The Cents first round opponent Wenatchee Wild has 5 representatives across the teams. 

Here are the All-Stars for this season:


F – Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild

F – Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies

F – Kale Howarth, Trail Smoke Eaters

D – Cooper Zech, Wenatchee Wild

D – Jonny Tychonick, Penticton Vees

G – Ty Taylor, Vernon Vipers


F – John Wesley, Surrey Eagles

F – Ty Westgard, Surrey Eagles

F – AJ Vanderbeck, Wenatchee Wild

D – Michael Ufberg, Vernon Vipers

D – Slava Demin, Wenatchee Wild

G – Adam Scheel, Penticton Vees


F – Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies
F – Levi Glasman, Trail Smoke Eaters
F – Keaton Mastrodonato, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
D – Nick Leivermann, Penticton Vees
D – Layton Ahac, Prince George Spruce Kings
G – Seth Eisele, Wenatchee Wild


Pin It