Latest News
Stay up to date with news and alerts for Merritt and the Nicola Valley

The Merritt Centennials kick off their first three game weekend of the season tonight with a home game against the Powell River Kings.

Powell River is second in the Coastal Conference with an 11-3-1-and-1 record. The Cents are 2-9-0-and-3, but have registered points in three straight.

Merritt will be without three forwards as Dylan Playfair and Sean Maktaak sit out with suspensions while Evan Stack is gone for up to a month with a sprained ankle. Steve Wall injured himself during off-ice training on Tuesday and is a game-time decision.

Defenceman Jeff Zmurchyk has the green light to play after sitting out a three-game suspension while Tyler Steel also returns from suspension to back-up Lino Chimienti, who gets his third straight start in goal for the Centennials.

Alex Grebenyuk has the pre-game show at 7 o'clock followed by the opening faceoff from the Nicola Valley Memorial Arena at 7:30.

Pin It

While the Ontario Government continues it's fight with Ticketmaster, the promoter of the Merritt Mountainfest has dropped them.

Claude Lelievre says he's found a better way of passing savings on to festival goers -- by selling tickets directly through the Mountainfest website.

Lelievre says it's just one of the things being done to attract festival goers to the Merritt Mountain Music Festival, back after cancelling this year's show due to financial difficulties.

Tickets go on sale November 15 for the festival, set for July 7-10, 2011.

Pin It

The Merritt Centennials are getting ready for tomorrow's game against Powell River to wrap up a four game homestand.

According to Cents coach and G-M Luke Pierce, they'll be without forwards Evan Stack and Steve Wall.

Stack suffered his injury in Saturday's 4-3 overtime win against Coquitlam while Wall was injured during off-ice training on Tuesday.

Pin It

Charges are pending against a 33-year old San Diego, California man after a stabbing in the Grandview Heights neighbourhood of Merritt this morning.

RCMP Constable Tracy Dunsmore says the man was arrested without incident at the scene shortly before 9 o'clock this morning.

Dunsmore says the victim, who was stabbed in the neck, is the man's sister and she is recovering at the Nicola Valley Health Care Centre.

Pin It

As Waste Reduction Week moves along in the Thompson Nicola Regional District, spokesman Martin Dickson is hoping to have another clean up in the Nicola Valley.

Dickson says a Clean Up work bee last year in the Midday Valley Road area was a great success.

Waste Reduction Week is annual event held across the country.  Local participation has been encouraged by the TNRD.

Pin It